Iannocent – Featured Artist February

Born on 13 May 1987, Ian Permana is a very talented illustrator from Bandung, Indonesia.
Check one of his internet appearances: Iannocent on Bahance.

I asked him for a little interview to get to know him and the way he is working much better. And here we are.

PILOT
the king of atmosfer

What means Iannocent, always wanted to know how you got your name.
I can discern Innocent – is that right?

That’s right, iannocent is from innocent, a long time ago my nickname was “Innocent”,
but my friend said “the name will be more interesting if you combine your name (Ian) with innocent”.
My name is Ian + Innocent = Iannocent, that’s the story behind my nickname, thanks to my friend Alfatoni for the idea.

Tell me about your hometown: How is your life as an artist in Bandung, Indonesia?
In my city all people like beauty, art, street art, and music. Many creative people live here.
An inspiration for me is the illustration community I joined in. The name is ACEKING SKETCH SQUAD (ASS). You find many
different styles of drawing – it’s awesome.
For me as an artist it is just a little disappointing, because you don’t get a real appreciation for your work, so I must work very hard to get enough money and keep the loyalty towards my artwork.

When and why did you start drawing and illustrating? Has your work already developed yet?
I like to draw. When I was a child, I liked drawing Songoku, Bezita, and Frezer – that are characters from my favorite anime “DRAGONBALL Z”.
Back in the days I loved to draw animes, but now my drawing grew with many references, many styles, and many artists, so this is my style now.
Yeah, my work developes until now, I’m still working on my technique and learn how to issue a concept for my artwork.

Collaboration
ELFT x IANNOCENT

There are so many ways one can connect with people, but what motivates you to build relationships through an art making process?
I just ask, because I saw that you already worked with ELFT, another artist from Indonesia (“Elft x Iannocent”). Can we expect more?

I like to post pictures of the drawing-process. The process is the story of my drawing, and actually will be my history. I really appreciate the process.
I like to share every drawing-process, I hope that many people around the world appreciate the process too and maybe this connects us.
ELFT is a friend from my community. We always talk about the illustration world or draw together.
I asked him to collaborate on some artwork, but only the “opening artwork” is finished now.
The main artwork still is in progress, because he’s really busy. I want to collaborate with other artist from another city or country.

Do you have any other artist you would like to work with?
Yes sure, I want collab with Oliver DZO, PEZ Artwork, Mymutas, Aaron Horkey (he’s my main inspiration), and many more..

Is there anything you consistently draw inspiration from and what is your work about?
I consistently like drawing animals, so my work is about “Natural Anger”. A lot of people who destroy nature for their personal needs, but do not realize that it is a quick way to ruin ones life.

What’s the best, or even the worst thing about being an artist?
The best about being an artist for me is that we can work with our imagination, to make the Earth a not saturate.
There is no worst thing about being an artist. For me drawing is the best thing to do and it is the best thing in my life.

vvv

Iannocent x T.M.P
Iannocent x T.M.P
behind mask- In process
behind mask- In process

Iannocent on facebook
and tumblr.

Leave a Reply

